Gone Girl Gives Good

GONE GIRL, from left: Ben Affleck, Rosamund Pike, 2014. ph: Merrick Morton/TM & copyright ©20th

The other week I went to the cinema with a bunch of friends to go and see David Fincher’s latest offering: Gone Girl. I hadn’t read the book and I had avoided all social media, film reviews and comments about the film before stepping inside the cinema. I had heard that it was a spectacular film full of suspense and drama, and I was hardly disappointed. I’ve watched nearly all of Fincher’s films, but my favourite had to be Se7en. That film just oozes everything a good thrillers needs, and I have to admit that the ending shocked me, almost as much as the ending to Gone Girl shocked me too. Gone Girl stars Ben Affleck as Nick Dunne, a man who returns home to find his wife Amy (Rosamund Pike) missing. From there on Nick is dazzled in a media circus with people demanding to know his part in his wife’s disappearance.

To tell the truth, I have never been a Ben Affleck fan. I was almost horrified when he was announced as Batman. Christian Bale, for me, is the only Batman. But I have to admit that he did a good job as Nick. Some have criticised his performance as being ‘too bland’, but I think it was just right. Nick’s wife is missing and he is embodied in the police search and even accused of murdering his wife. I think his performance is realistic. He never overdoes the dramatics, but he is outshone by his on screen sister; Carrie Coon brings the despair, protection and humour to the film, along with Tyler Perry’s portrayal of Tanner Bolt: Nick’s lawyer. Rosamund Pike encapsulates the character of Amy perfectly. She plays the doting housewife turned femme fatale like a born natural. It wouldn’t be a shock if her name is mentioned at Oscar time. Amy is a character you can’t quite understand. She is mysterious and her motives are never truly clear until she has explained her reasons behind her actions. She is, quite simply, a complicated character.

It’s almost impossible to discuss the plot without giving away the ending or any major reveals which the film has to offer. But Gone Girl is nothing if not full of twists and turns to leave you wondering just what the truth is and what is a lie. There are some scenes some people may find difficult to watch, especially one right near the end. I found it impossible to watch. But that is down to the tense atmosphere and the musical score produced by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross which has you cowering in your seat at certain moments.

Gone Girl definitely has to be up there with Fincher’s top films. With a running time of over two hours it is quite long, and sometimes it does feel as though it is dragging. But with first class acting, a build up of wonder and horror, and a plot twist at every turn, Gone Girl will have you sat in your seat with apprehension. It might also make you re-evaluate your relationship too.

Leave a comment