My time in London

So I haven’t really blogged in a while and there has been one reason for that. I’ve spent the past six weeks interning and it has been fabulous. I’ve worked in different local newspapers for four weeks, but two weeks were spent in London working for GoThinkBig, a career website which offers loads of work placement opportunities as well as career advice. So, how did I feel before I went down to London? Well, I was nervous, of course I was. I come from a small town and I’ve never experienced life in the big city. To begin with my train was late which meant I missed the connecting train, and lugging a 25kg case on trains is not fun. Anyway, I spent my time in uni accommodation which was vacated over the summer, and it was pleasanter than I had imagined.

So on the Monday morning, I got up three hours earlier than normal to make sure I looked presentable enough. The dress code was casual, but I didn’t want to be too casual. There’s so much strain on what to wear! In the end I opted for the number below and it turned out to be just smart enough without being too smart! A blazer makes everything so much better.

VLUU L100, M100  / Samsung L100, M100

So then it was off to Oxford Street for the first day. For anyone who has never been to Oxford Street, it’s simply just crazy. There’s so many high street shops and so many tourists! The tube station is often shut for ten minutes at a time just to cope with the flow of people. It was definitely an experience after commuting via the number 44 bus which is rarely ever full. After surviving the tube rush hour and not being decapitated by the closing doors, I finally made it to work. The nerves were in full swing. But there was no reason to be nervous at all. Everyone was so lovely and they made me feel welcome, especially with apple crumble on the first day. I was even invited to the pub on Friday night! I helped out with anything they asked me to do, and I even had the chance to write my own articles for the website. So if you’re looking to get work experience then definitely check out their website for opportunities and advice!

Apart from that, London could have been a lonely place had my friends not been there. The weekend was spent shopping, watching the Wimbledon final and eating the best chips ever in Covent Garden.

London London2jpg

It was an awesome week and I did all the touristy things I wanted to do, as you can probably tell from the photos above. But what did I take away from my time interning London?

  1. Always be on time. Punctuality is key, no one will hire someone who turns up late.
  2. Say yes to anything! Saying no will only make a bad impression and it doesn’t help anyone.
  3. Speak! It’s difficult not to be the wallflower when you’re with people you’ve never met, but you don’t want to be everyone’s best friend. Just engage in conversation when it’s happening and never say anything out of turn.
  4. Ask for help. It’s scary admitting you sometimes have no idea what you’re doing. I was asked to use Twitter and I’ve never even had a Twitter account. Yes, you may look like an alien, but it’s better than lying and making a bad job.
  5. Appreciate every opportunity you’re given. The GoThinkBig team was lovely enough to set up appointments for me to meet a top lawyer (which definitely helped as a law student) and they even let me join in on a social network event with Kiss FM. (Kisstory is best hour of music you’ll ever listen to, by the way).

Overall, it was a great two weeks, even if I did go into the office with a cold for two days. The thought of taking time off ill didn’t appeal to me, especially when I loved working there so much. Maybe one day I’ll go back to London again and intern? I definitely hope so!

If you want to read the articles I wrote then the links are below, and definitely check out the other articles on the page if you need career help!

Flexible working hours

Explorer Ed Stafford offers words of wisdom

Leave a comment